Colab Art Through Steemit with @allyinspirit

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cover.png

This post is about the results of an art collaboration with @allyinspirit.

Awhile ago I was browsing steemit and came across one of Alison's posts on some art she'd done. It resonated with me for a few reasons. Firstly the artwork itself is absolutely gorgeous.

DQmU29XnsiD1F5XGMZJLjjeC9SbavituSG6mwK1E6jhB5Ut.jpg

Original art by @allyinspirit.

She made this beautiful artwork called 'Living in Bliss in the Hinterland' by painting on silk. The vivid colours and level of detail she's achieved is quite remarkable. She says the painting is essentially about transformation, change and healing which is why she wanted to make it available through a creative commons license.

I've come across creative commons images before as a designer, but didn't know there were 6 different types. I learnt something new about how to use those licenses from reading her post. The license she used is the creative commons share alike license, meaning anyone can alter her art if they give her credit. The new art also automatically carries the same license. I think it's great that more steemit artists are embracing creative commons as it makes collaboration a lot easier. If you read my blog you'd know that I dabble with art. As soon as I saw this post I wanted to try a collaboration with the image, but it inevitably got procrastinated. Having caught up with the most pressing work that needs to be done, I took this idea off the back burner and gave it a shot.

A lot of the time I don't know what my art is going to look like when finished. Sometimes it happens intuitively, and sometimes it revolves around the spark behind an idea. Drawing also helps me think, and to get into a creative mood I picked up some art supplies and began sketching. I wanted to follow the theme of change and healing and so thought I'd use imagery of nature, tadpoles and other pond life to convey it. I start as usual with a pencil outline, colour over it and finish with pens. This sort of happened naturally as I wasn't paying too much attention to what was happening on my paper.

1.png

colabart.jpg

This ended up being off-center and din't look so great when combined with the original.

colaert.jpg

The great thing about software is that I could isolate individual parts of my drawing and reuse them in new iterations of a collaborative effort to create different types of things.

23-01.jpg

A flower made from the fish bodies and tadpole-eyes.

3-01.jpg

A simple edit using a well known metaphor for change, a butterfly made from drawn patterns.


These days phone apps can do a lot to edit images and so out of curiosity to see what trippy patterns I could come up with I put the art through Mirror Lab to get these results.

image%3A95581_mirror2.jpg

image%3A95581_mirror4.jpg

image%3A95581_mirror5.jpg

image%3A95581_mirror3.jpg

I then combined some of these images to get some mega fractals.

4-01.jpg

5-01.jpg

This was a fun exploration. I'm still dipping my toes in the artist community on steemit, but I'm excited about more collaboration and what the future holds. I will also probably start making more of my own art under creative commons.

Read @allyinspirit's original post here
In the spirit of collaboration, I'll be splitting this post's SBD with her.

All the images in this post are free to use under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

cc-buttsaons.jpg

Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

I love the mixture of the colors; well done 😍

Thank you, I'm trying to make my art more colourful these days.

Those mega fractals are quite the colour explosion :D

goatsig

The colours were already so vivid in the original art. The fractals just made them stand out more.
Also that goat is adorable!

You did a great job, I love those colors!

I know right? Those colours in Ally's art are part of what drew me in so much.

Soul Turtle, wonderful to introduce some of your own underwater world creativity into this image. The tadpoles telling of the frog's beginnings are so appropriate. ♥︎

The circle of tadpoles becoming a flower ~ With what seems like a Celtic knot in the centre, gives a feeling of the image now being connected to an ancient world.

Love the butterflies with central open eyes. Love the second square image and then the last two images. The diamond center is magical especially accentuated with the intense ultramarine.

If I have a favourite it would be the last image with the very subtle Flower of Life. It's as if all the life forms within the painting are being magnetically drawn to this centre ~ That is all life receiving ~ And giving. 🦋

Wow, you've found a lot of meaning in the art I didn't think about while doing it. The Celtic knot looking thing naturally happened while reflecting a cropped version of your art.

Thanks for dropping by and leaving this thoughtful comment, and also for introducing me to the CC licenses and starting this collaborative journey.

I'm looking forward to more of your amazing silk painting posts!

Incredible!! Love this. Thank you for sharing!

Glad you liked this little exploration. Thank you for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47