Art Explosion | Vicious

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Art Explosion contest hosted by @juliakponsford. The theme this week is vicious which for me immediately conveys images of violence and anger. I didn't really know how to approach the theme. I was messing around with some phone editing apps and some art happened spontaneously. It's really quite cool how many different ways you can rearrange a photo with just a few taps.


The Entry

visciousart-01.jpg


The Process

I used this metal selfie from when we were having a time on one of @crimsonclad's Full Force Thurday radio shows. It's probably the most vicious looking photo of me I had that I could try using. I first put it through a filter on Prisma and then take it over to Mirror Lab to experiment more.

Untitled-2-01.png

I used Mirror Lab to come up with these images.

image%3A98553_mirror3.jpg

image%3A98555_mirror14.jpg

image%3A98553_mirror5.jpg

image%3A99734_mirror_01.jpg

I then take them over to the laptop and lay them on top of each other with different transparencies. While doing this I noticed this dragon-deer-assassin forming in the middle and used a combination of pen and brush tools to highlight this form.

3.png

I then use some royalty free images of blood splatters as a background and finish the art by equipping my vicious creature with some knives.

5.png

An early iteration of the art.

viscious-01.jpg


Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

Wow!! nice work. I am also participating I invite you to go through my Post

Thanks for dropping by. Your entry is really good!

This is awesome thanks for the entry!

Thank you. Always a pleasure being a part of Art Explosion.

This is pretty cool. The first thing I saw was the skull at the top. Then it was the eyes of a man. Everything brought together is a great piece. Awesome job!

Thank you. It was pretty cool how all those images just happened naturally. The skull kinda happened as an afterthought after I noticed the blood looked like eyes which aligned with the bottom of the horns. Phone apps are also pretty neat, anyone can be an artist. I didn't expect this to come out like this, but it sort of fell together.

That's cool. You have a good eye.

Like your style very much. Nice job.

Thank you. I think my style keeps evolving as I work with different media. Glad you like it.

Excellent post...i like a lot..

Congratulations @soulturtle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

hallo friend steemit your posting is very good friend, may i love you a little suggestion so i can be like you, oa and i am happy too if you want to drop by in my post hopefully, if you do not want nothing also because I'm quite happy we can be friends more like this thanks
soulturtle

Don't be like me. Be like you and write about your passion. That's the key to building a network of awesome people who will support you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80