Art Explosion | Deviance

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for this week's Art Explosion Contest hosted by @juliakponsford. The theme is deviance which for me means being a rebel, thinking outside the box and breaking rules to be unconventional. This kinda reminds me of the matrix and how Neo and crew are basically deviants. It made me think of how the matrix could be a metaphor for any kind of system that keeps you trapped, and how you've got to be a deviant to break through it. In someways I'm a deviant for choosing an unconventional path in life. This imagery of unplugging and disconnecting from a system resonated with me and I thought I'd use that metaphor to graphically represent my idea of deviance.


The Entry

5a9af714adfb0656199197 (1).gif


The Process

I start by going over a rough pencil sketch with the brush tool on Adobe Illustrator.

3.png

Once the outlines are done I fill out the cables with smaller strokes.

4.png

I flip the colours to have a good background for my green matrix style codes.

5.png

I then use the silhouette as a clipping mask for a watercolour texture. I thought I'd take the art to the next level and make it move. To make the gif, I simply exchange the 1s and 0s to make it look like the line is moving. I also change the background of the watercolours to go through the spectrum. I got 16 separate images by doing this and then string them together to make a gif. I'm still getting used to animation and it doesn't flow as well as I could've made it but it's still rather flashy. I used giphy to connect and then decorate my images.

1-01.jpg

4-01.jpg

13-01.jpg

With any free online gif maker, the output quality is a lot less than my image sources, but it's a sacrifice worth making to have a moving image.

This was the first gif I've ever made from scratch and it was an interesting and fun process. With time I'll get better at making those gifs flow and figure out how to do them with Photoshop so I can have some HD gifs.

Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

Haha soulturtle the deviant :p Choosing an alternate path in life is hard but I think it brings great rewards!

Oh, for sure. It isn't always easy but it so empowering. I doubt I'd be able to go back to a 9-5 grind again.

This is quite impressive buddy, for a first GIF ever. You are definitely multi talented and I always love it when people show the(ir creative) process.

Thank you! It's nice to sometimes mix up mediums, trying out different stuff to get those creative juices flowing.

I totally agree with that. I am actually still thinking of a way of doing that on steemit and I'm talking about more than just written text and (moving) images.

That is great!! Nice work X

Forever in awe of how your brain works. Love this! Especially the binary background, the inverted colours and...all of it.

Did you draw the lines inside the rope one by one on illustrator? :/

Basic animation is actually quite easy. You'll get the hang of it in no time.

Thank you for the compliments. Your brain also works in magical ways, haha.

Yeah, those lines took sometime, but I didn't really notice it go by cause I filled them up while listening to some music.

Animation is definitely time consuming and it takes skill and planning to make one that flows well. I reckon I have the hang of it, but I don't have the patience for a really well done animation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56