Art Explosion | Circus

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for this week's Art Explosion contest hosted by @juliakponsford. The theme is about circuses. There's a lot of imagery associated with circuses. I wanted to use the human form in some way and as I'm not too good at drawing the proportions correctly, I thought I'd go with a surreal/abstract theme. That allowed me to be a little more comfortable as the rules of proportion don't have to apply to surreal art.


The Entry

circuses.jpg


The Process

I start by drawing pencil outlines of circus related imagery that came to mind.

pencil.jpg

I then slowly start filling in the outlines with pen strokes and colour. I recently got myself some wax crayons and sketch pens and thought I'd put them to use. I associate red and yellow stripes with the circus, and used only those colours only to convey the theme better.

ink1.jpg

For my background, I paint random yellow and red lines with gouache paint and then use earbuds dipped in water to fill the gaps between and merge the colours into one another.

colour.jpg

coloursmudge.jpg

After inking and colouring everything, I edit a picture of the art to boost the colours and finally add a filter that I think makes it look more circusy.


Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

Hey @soulturtle, it has turned out great! :) I think going with abstract/surreal theme worked well here - it makes your piece trippy in a good way.

Keep it up! Only way to get better is by practicing!
Dm7

Thanks! I like trying out new stuff to stay creatively motivated.
I'm hoping getting more involved with art will eventually make me better at it.
Practice is the way to go and steemit is a great way to find inspiration.
You should check out Art Explosion too since you're an artist! It's always cool to see all the different interpretations of the themes.

You're welcome! :) Yeah, it's always challenging to stay creatively motivated - I feel ya! :) Yup, steemit is a fun platform from what I can see - so yeah why not start with that. I've been using other platforms so it's still a bit weird for me here, but I'm trying. I'm a new fish after all, working hard to learn how to swim in this water you know. Haha.
Once I get hang of steemit, most likely I will give Art Explosion a try because you're right, it's always cool to see all the different interpretations of the themes. 😄

Cheers!
Dm7

Haha, yes there is a steep learning curve, but there's also a bunch of helpful people around so don't hesitate to ask if you're feeling lost.
Looking forward to seeing you around in more art related posts!
The first few months are hard work, but remember,
justkeepswimming-01.jpg

Haha lovely graphic to go with it. <3 Thanks! I'm already feeling at home here. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79