Women of the World - original handmade sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art8 years ago

Dear Steemians hello!

Today I’m going to show you my sculpture Women of the World. As a wife and mother I know the effort it requires to be an independent strong woman in this world, but also watching my own daughter and the other women in and outside of our immediate circle make a very big effort to succeed in a man’s world, I felt the need to “unite” women from all around the world in one sculpture.

I have tried to integrate the specific features of women around the world into my own style, so as to have diversity but also unity. I enjoyed a lot designing their clothes and hair, it is the fan girly part that always survives in a woman’s heart no matter her age.

It was a very difficult sculpture to make because clay cannot be worked in pieces as it will probably break in the fire. I had to make it in one piece. Especially the lower parts were a challenge.

The Sculpture is handmade out of ceramic clay and it is 50cm high. I have exhibited twice already, first time was back in 2014 (the year I created it) and the second in 2016 (the Art Party as presented by a relative post by @mariandavp).
The photo below is from the 2014 exhibition.

Sort:  

Very nice work. Very detailed. You are talented for sure. Being a gentlemen I really think your anchor sculpture is neat as well. :)

I am following your blog now too. :)

Thank you so much for your kind words and support! I followed you back, looking forward to read your posts and exchange views.

Hello @sofi-m,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.168 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thank you! I am honored!

Absolutely wonderful, I love it! I hope to see more now I'm following you :-)

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it! More to come. I am following you also :)

Aw thank you! I look forward to seeing more :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59