The Violin Player - original ceramic clay sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Tonight I would like to show you one of my favorite sculptures, the Violin Player. It is one of my favorite sculptures because apart from the instrument itself which is my favorite, where I was born (Naxos Island, Greece) violin players where the most significant music players and central to our feasts and celebrations. In fact, this is not the only violin player I have made but it was the first one.

As all of my sculptures, this too is handmade without the use of forms or molds. It is out of ceramic clay – note that although it looks as if it’s painted it is not. I have used different types and colors of clay for each part I wanted to make more distinct.

This is a quite difficult technique as different clays create different internal forces during baking (in 1200 celcious degrees) and increase the possibility to break. As a general comment most of ceramic clay sculptures like mine break during baking and this is a very painful process.

Around 1/3 of my sculptures survives the heat and this Violin Player is one of them.

Sort:  

It feels like a bit of an introduction post, so much of you comes across in this posting. I'd be curious to see a picture of the person who actually inspired the sculpture, if there's one... Great job! Namaste :)

Very interesting post and great sculpture. How big is this violin player? It's fascinating that only 1/3 of your works survive the fire. Upvoted and followed!

Thank you! It is about 45 cm high. Yes, and sometimes if it is hot outside or humid it affects the speed with which the temperature goes up in the oven and it is even less. Very painful.

This is very nice!!

Thank you!

If any of the musicians is going to make it through the fire, for sure it's going to be the Violin Player :-)

Nice early wake up 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44