Praying Tree – Handmade clay sculpture by sofi-m

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemers!

Today I will show you my daughter’s favorite; my Praying Tree. This bouquet of extended hands symbolizes the common human act of seeking help. It could be through a religious prayer to a higher force or through collective expression towards an authority. People tend to gather together, to unite under a common cause with a common request. Help. In my family we love trees and we love surrealism so I thought it would be a good idea to present our hands as branches that extend to the sky searching for “light”.

@mariandavp absolutely loved it so when I sold it, she made me make another one for her. The close-ups are from the sculpture that I gave to her, and the photos from the exhibition are from the one I sold.
The sculpture is around 40cm (15,7 in) tall and it is made out of ceramic clay.
I hope you like it!

This is the previous (the first sculpture)

Sort:  

What a great idea, it reminds me of a group of people im a circle I have at the entrance of my home. I love what you did with it and it makes me wonder why you have chosen 7 as the cycle in the circle and 4 as the cycle of progression? Namaste :)

Thank you @eric-boucher! how nice it feels when someone observes the details! 7 holds a special value to me, and in our culture in general. There are numerous meanings behind this but it is also my lucky number. Four are the members of my family, so to me it means unity.

Over the past weekend, I ended up channelling a lot of sevens coming out of lightning and rainbows, mostly... Glad to see it come out in your art as well over the course of the week. ;) Namaste :)

Such a nice and poetic comment! Thank you eric!

Thanks for the recognition too, namaste :)

This is a truly amazing creation, both you and your daughter are very talented..

Thank you so much! Thank you for supporting us!

Very beautifull sculpture art @sofi-m, you are vey talented, I followed!

That is excellent, thank you. I followed you too.

This is great! Requires hard work and long hours to do. I always admire other people's art.

It does indeed. Imagine doing it twice! Thank you so much, but I am sure there is an art that suits you too.

Glad you liked it!

What a great concept and followthrough. I can see why your daughter loves it so much. Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and followed!

Thank you so much @everlove! I follow you now as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39