Handmade Tree sculpture out of clay by @sofi-m

in #art8 years ago
Today I want to show you one more of my handmade clay trees.

Last time, I presented a more surreal version of nature the New World but today's art is more realistic but also an abstract piece.

It is one of the most difficult sculptures I have ever made; it is very difficult to make a tree with clay as the wet clay is heavy and it is very difficult to keep the branches up. It kept falling apart on my hands and I had to invent all sort of mechanical tricks to stabilize it until it dries up and it's ready to put in the oven.

In the end, I felt it was worth the effort; I love trees... natural or sculpted!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

If the branches are hard to do, I can understand why the tree has no leaves lol

I think it does ;)

I wasn't wearing my glasses again! Sorry.

Hahahaha

All right. I am a backwoods boy. What would I know about art. How's that?

Oh no don t say that!! I' m telling everyone in Greece I sold transcendence to a Canadian collector!!

😎😎😎😎

Thank you for posting @sofi-m. The tree is lovely....seeing the figure through the branches sitting under the tree was a nice thought.

Thank you @bluejay! I must admit it was by chance that the figure is seen through the branches...

Very cool! I totally thought that this was coral at first!

Thank you! Yes, I guess you are right it does look like coral in the photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62