Euripides; the violin player - original sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art8 years ago

Happy New Year Everyone!
May 2017 bring everyone health, happiness and freedom! Today I will present you my next sculpture from the musicians’ collection. This is the portrait of Euripides, a violin player from Naxos. He is the second violin player I’ve made, but he is a very inspiring figure.
I was on the ship to Naxos with my husband, and as we went to the deck outside to have a cigarette we noticed a big party going outside. Euripides was playing the violin and people were dancing, clapping and singing! A wonderful feast! We got to talk to him and then he let me take his photo so I can portray him.
Euripides is handmade out of two different kinds of clay and baked in 1200 degrees.
Here he is! I like him, I hope you too!

Sort:  

Yes, I take it from your user name you are too?

haha yes . σε ενα ποστ εχεις γραψει χρονια πολλα και απορουσα αλλα τελικα επεσα μεσα. κανεις πολυ ωραία εργα τεχνης :)

Ευχαριστώ πολύ! Καλωσήρθες στο Steemit!

I like how you have played with proportions with these musician pieces, the heads are really interesting. Is the violin colour the natural colour of the clay or have you applied a dark slip?

It is the natural color of the clay; I rarely paint my sculptures - out of 150+ sculptures around 3-4 I've used acrylic color. There are many options nowadays when it comes to clay colors. As for the proportions, I guess I often do that either big heads or big shoulders or big hands, whatever is important to me in each sculpture I tend over size it. I have worked on perfectly proportional pieces but when they were done they don't look like mine at all.

Happy New Year! This is funny:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70