Birth Uncensored - original handmade sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today I will shock you

But art should be uncensored especially on a liberal platform like this and when it comes to the miracle of Birth.

This sculpture is my tribute in the miracle of life, in the strength of women and the endurance of female body. I know most people find it shocking but I believe we need to become more acquainted with ourselves and not to dismiss our divinity out of puritanism.

I have used dark natural clay and baked it in 1200 degrees. Unfortunately I couldn't avoid a few cracks on her but at lease it survived the fire and didn't explode from the forces between the different elements of this composition.

Sort:  

What a greatly valuable post as it is underlining life at the magic of its core! Thank you so very much for sharing such beauty with us all.

Too often the feminine energies, values and even motherhood itself gets relinquished to be sent to the back shelves, when not worse... We are at a pivotal time in our human history where such art, experience and understanding needs to be exposed to all for all to value again and reacquaint ourselves with for life to take its necessary place if we are to survive the madness of humankind is making life suffer with.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

My thoughts exactly @eric-boucher only much better expressed in words by you. Thank you!

Don't understand why the birth of baby is a taboo of our culture.

Ι don't know either but I think it was much worse in the past.

This is an amazing piece!

Sorry to make light of it - I'm just in that kind of mood today :-)

Birth2add_text77cb1.th.jpg

(lol) Agreed! Great piece with a greater message. Resteemed

That's funny! I understand! Thank you both @onceuponatime and @kevinwong!

Incredible piece... perhaps my favourite of all actually! Thanks for sharing this one!

I am happy you like it, thanks for your support!

OMG awesomeeee...!! :) incredible details

Thank you, I tried to be more detailed especially on her face expression.

This steemit platform has multi talented individuals. Cant believe it took me so long to find all of you here. Im a little shocked, nice job @sofi-m

Thank you so much, I am also grateful to be in a community with so many beautiful people!

It's a beautiful work. Human birth is where we all begin. Having watched both of my kids come into the world, it's a very special moment. Of course, mothers are the true heroes.

Thank you very much! It is a wonderful thing that you got to be there, modern men are so much closer to their companions' lives than they used to be and I assume you will be a great father too after this experience.

a truly wonderful piece of art. Even the little cracks make sense somehow. Thank you very much for sharing it. What are you planning on doing with it? Will the sculpture be part of an exhibition ?

Thank you @sumsum! I have already exhibited in a recent exhibition, but will do so again. I don't think I will sell this one though...I don't think I can.

I get it. This piece seems to be very fragile. Are you a fulltime artist ? Do you make your living with art?

I am mainly a sculptor but I also write poetry, but in Greek. Of course in Greece you cannot make a living from art :)

I see. That´s a pity. I can tell you really make the world wiser with your art.

This is a very nice comment and very nice of you to say this. Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05