You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ART CONTEST - WHO IS THIS ARTIST? - Trip to St. Louis Part 1

in #art6 years ago

Nice artwork, I know your kids will remember it! I took mine to Chicago to see museums and they still talk about it. The dinos, the mummies, and the U boat; were the hits that trip. It sure stays with them, so keep it up! I knew the artist and painting (art appreciation classes) but I was too late, ROFLOL! Keep posting!

Sort:  

Wow! Would really love to see the U-boat there. Traffic in Chicago keeps me away. I had nightmares the last time I returned from there. :)

Yes, traffic sucks there, LOL! The U-505 was captured on the high seas, by Commander Dan Gallery's hunter killer group. The only thing that kept him from being court marshaled was he told them he was going to catch one. He was such a big joker, they laughed, so he went out and got one! They were trying to protect the Enigma code, and did Not want a captured sub, because the Germans would change the code if they knew. Your kids would eat it up, good History lessons. The tyrannosaurus in the entry lobby would amaze them too! Keep posting, you remind me if my Son-in-law! I enjoy your content.

My nightmare was that they wanted me to move there, and be their world wide problem solver! I had to quit to get away from that mess!

A little closer to home in Muscogee Oklahoma, is a fleet boat the USS Batfish. The traffic is a lot nicer, and the boat is bigger. There is also a piece of the USS Oklahoma there, along with lots of military hardware the boys can climb on. She holds the record for sinking 3 enemy submarines, in 3 days. You can also see round patches on the west side, where she was straffed by one if our own anti submarine aircraft. There is one point common to both boats; there is an acoustic torpedo in the USS Batfish, called a Cutie, which is a direct copy of one from the U-505. Be safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86