Cat [ Drawing Process ]

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Today I want to share with you a drawing I made recently along with its process.
This piece is a commission I did for one of my close friends. Honestly, it looks simple, but for me it was quite challenging. I hate drawing furniture. Ask me to draw anything organic, perfect it'll be done in 3 seconds. Anything geometric, I instantly freeze. I know how to do it, but I don't like doing it.

The finished piece looks like this:

Dan Cat_modi_fin.png

I started off with an extremely rough sketch, kind of blocking out where I'll put everything. This usually takes me 2-5 minutes.

1.PNG

I then started lining, which for me is the longest provess . I drew the cat first because it is the main 'setpiece'. I can then make everything to scale.

2.PNG

I then continue the lining process, and fix a couple of proportion errors on the cat.

3.PNG

I finish off the lineart. It took me roughly 2-3 hours to complete. Mostly because of all the small details, and all the straight lines / perspective.

4.PNG

I then apply flat colours, and shade them a little bit. I try to see where all the shadows would be, and how light would interact with certain objects.

5.PNG

I then add gradients to make everything have a little more depth. I also shade the cat a little bit more to emphasize it.

6.PNG

To finish it all off, I add god rays to emphasize the cat further. I also tweak the colours and add some rim light. A little bit of grain to meld it all together, and done!

7.PNG

The whole thing probably took me around 6 hours to complete. Mostly because I'm a slow worker, and constantly get distracted.

I hope you guys enjoyed this process! If you did don't forget to comment and upvote <3
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask in the comments ^^

Until next time! -
Skullyzard

Sort:  

Great process breakdown :) 6 hours is good going for this too, not slow at all :)

nice touch with the god rays XD.

kittens FTW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22