You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can't Forget

in #art6 years ago

This is beautiful, I love the style, it really reminds me of the old traditional art, and in particular something about this reminds me of the Death of Marat (One of my favourites).

dav_marat.jpg

Perhaps the shape of the body or just the style, either way, beautifully done! Love it. 😱

Sort:  

Thank you @skippyza! I spend a great deal of time studying the Old Masters. They are an inspiration. But there are also many modern masters that are sources of inspiration.

The story behind David's "Death of Marat" is an interesting one. After the French Revolution, Marat was a much reviled figure. Because David had painted Marat as a martyr, he was shunned. This painting effectively ended his career. Hopefully, my painting won't do the same for me. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45