You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Artist Interview : The Great @Beekart

in #art7 years ago

This is a really inspirational (and very long ;P) post! I can find a lot of similarities in this. Since I was in primary school, I have always wanted to be a concept artist, although I got the "What job are you going to do with an art degree" speech from my parents a lot.

I ended up in design now, and it's not a horrible job, although it's just not the same as when I am drawing on my tablet. I haven't had it very long, and I am still learning every time I draw, but I also found that it's something I can just sit and do for hours (mostly until I need to get up before my neck snaps off). Although I still can't get my images to look anywhere near this crisp. ;P

Ironically Warcraft 3 is what made me really look at the art and go, wooow, I want to do that. I specifically remember one artist called Samwise, and I think they had a group called the Sons of the Storm. Some of the coolest art I saw growing up.

But before I waffle on too long, I just wanted to say that it's awesome to hear your story, and thank you @beekart for sharing, and @alcy for doing the interview. This is really great work guys!

Sort:  

The '"What job are you going to do with an art degree" is pretty common I think in the art community i had it as well, but at the same time I understand why parents or teachers are afraid like this. We still have the myth of the starving artist, like you have to be famous and sell a painting for a six figure price, or be forgotten and sad, and melencol..ious doing art in your too expensive appartment haha. No middle ground. And the society kinda likes to remind people that creation is not work but only talent. (And I think this is important to try to change things at this level at least =))

Graphic Design is neat !! And not so far from illustration or CG art neither ! maybe do you know already some basic principles in design, it is pretty easy to translate this knowledge and quality work will come with practice so you'll get there for sure man !

Samwise's the man haha, thank you very much for the kind words and support ! I really appreciate !! cheers man !

That's true, my parents weren't harsh, they were just concerned and wanted me to have a "stable" future. Although I must admit, there is not a big industry for art here in South Africa. That being said, I think the internet has made illustration a lot more viable for people like me that are stuck in countries without a lot of art opportunities.

And I ended up doing a teaching degree, so technically I can teach high-school kids art, but I never really practiced it, so I am not to confident in that ability. :P It did however teach me a lot of the principals of art, which is great. And yeah, Graphic design is related, and of course the software crosses over which is great.

But again, awesome post, and please keep it up, would love to see more. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46