Art- Crossing the Arrigoni Bridge- original fine art-Sarah Kinne

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Life on The Arrigoni Bridge : A Painted and Photographic Synopsis by Sarah Kinne

The Arrigoni Bridge crosses the Connecticut River, Connecting Portland to Middletown Connecticut.

I have painted this bridge since 2007 and will share a couple of my favorite paintings before I get into the photos, the first painting was done from afar, sketched from observation, and the second painting shown was a sketch based on the photo references I created with my recent photo series.

This one Below is an observational painting, from winter of 2007, where I sketched the Bridge from the west side of the river and then painted with vibrant colors that came out during sunset. This is an acrylic painting on canvas and is 2.25 feet by 4.5 feet.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 2.28.49 PM.png

Here is a smaller watercolor done in November... approximately 11 inches by 16 inches

23674818_693652219852_2750447481313216467_o.jpg

Here we are together @big-lou!

small watercolor on paper!

Photo on 1-5-18 at 2.52 PM #2 2.jpg

When I first returned to the Connecticut River Valley in July of 2017, after being in Boston for 13 years, my appreciation for this bridge grew. I had missed crossing it significantly. So for 6 months, I crossed that bridge twice a day and had a camera on a tripod with repeated photos taken.... Each photo was a surprise, I was trying to capture the things that are so beautiful about this bridge.

It is a ladder to celestial paradise to me, monkey bars to heaven. It would, likely, be fun for giants to climb.

Here are some of my favorite moments captured... The photos are in order of time of year, regardless of my direction of travel. This series honors the beauty and form of this bridge in various weather and light conditions. Hopefully after seeing these, one can appreciate why I gravitate to and appreciate the Arrigoni Bridge so much. There may very well be another post with other photos of this bridge as winter progresses.

Lets Begin in the Summertime, going both East and West when the light was strong and vibrant.

The following are from the Easterly Crossing.

Arrigoni August going East.jpg

Arrigoni August going East5.jpg

Arrigoni August Going East 2.jpg

Same Day, Westerly Return...

Arrigoni August going West.jpg

Arrigoni August going West 2.jpg

Another Westerly Trip, in Early September with the strong sun setting behind me.
arrigoni october going east skinne 17 2.jpg

Later Through September and October, the light became more mild and the air a bit more foggy, morning and night were both dimmer and shrouded in mist.

Arrigoni Sept going west3 skinne 18.jpg

IMG_2943.jpg

The time of Day I was crossing remained the same as it became a deeper darker and equally beautiful bridge to cross.

IMG_3169 copy.jpg

IMG_3168 copy.jpg

arrigoni west december 2017 skinne.jpg

Arrigoni West December 10 skinne 17.jpg

I have and will continue to paint and photograph The Arrigoni Bridge. The most stunning moments on the bridge are only accessible from the viewpoint of a moving car, so this process of taking photos allowed me to capture my favorite view.

Sort:  

Your 2.25 x 4.5 is stunning. It reminds me of a living creature almost. Really enjoyed seeing the source of the creative inspiration as well. The personal history and various iterations throughout the year were fascinating. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you !
The bridge has a life of it's own for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51