Terracotta: creating brush and pencil holders

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Greetings.

I was in need of something to keep my pencils in, I wanted to make something by my self so I got my self some terracotta, and head home for the preparations.

First you need to knead your dough with your hands to make it soft and flexible. Then use something like a plaster or a large glass bottle to flatten your dough to a 0.5 in layer.



I am cutting stripes to create a braid out of it, I will make a circle with that and place it over the layer of terracotta that I have over a piece of marble. I will use a sharp knife to cut the desired surface and unify them with some water and pressure with my hands. Washing your hands regularly helps a lot, so have a bucket with water near you.

 I made a circular shaped object, I pierced the terracotta with my brushes in order to create the holes that will hold them when it dries.

I will allow them to dry up to 24-36 hours, depending the humidity and temperature of the surroundings. When dry I will give them a white coating, this will allow the colors to be applied with the greatest efficiency.



Consider to follow me if you enjoy my work.

Check out my blog for more.

show some love on my clay comic series here

Sort:  

This is a great idea. Did you use acrylics for the color?

Yes I think they are durable enough for that use!

Good idea to make in Steemeit colors ;-)

Very clever and simple:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39