Clay Works. (I had this made awhile ago, I think there is a market for it today.)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Making of a sculpture:

(and since I am a bit sick and I don't have something else to post, I want to give this another chance.)
Pearl The Whale.

This is something I was working on for the past week along other things, I had a lot of fun out of the process I learned a couple of things as well but overall it was something I will try again probably in the future.
So here she comes again, the Queen of all seven seas. Isn't she a beauty?

Stage 1:

Modeling foam, glued together or stack it with some toothpicks like I did.
Making my initial shape with a knife, I am keep working till I get a shape I can work with.

(ps: care your fingers...)

Stage 2

Applying clay over the modeling foam. The clay must be treated with water, work it out in your hands to soften it then apply it over your model, do not make it thinner than 1 mm as it will crack while it dries out.

Stage 3

Refining and creating details, use a sharp tool to sharpen the surface of your model. Use some water to clean up your tools every now and then, it helps the most when you are working with clay to have clean and wet tools to work out.


( My apologies for the appearance but we do not invest money on shirts in Greece. Hey we where walking around with peplus piece of sheets for years at least we wear trousers now :)

Stage 4

Curing process. Allow your clay model to complete dry out. It will take approximately 24 hours for this procedure to occur.

Stage 5

Painting your model. I used casual temperas colors, you can use acrylics or sprays. It all comes down to what you are aiming for as an end result so it is a matter of preference. Congrats your sculpture is ready it is time for some photo shooting.

I hope you like the end result.

I hope you are being entertain so far. Arts if anything are very entertaining.

Follow me
@skapaneas

Sort:  

stinky foxxes as a friend of mine said recently.

A whale with a bow! Hope you get well soon!

I hope I get whale too...

thank you friend.

@skapaneas, the blue whale is the largest creature on the earth. You're an amazing artist and I appreciate all your posts. @skapaneas, I hope you feel better.

I am having some fever. thanks for asking. I hope you are enjoying the show.

@skapaneas, feel better. Best wishes from @runridefly

She is wonderful! Will you part with her, or keep her in your collection? If you want to find her a new home, you might consider listing her on Peerhub and maybe trade her with another kind of whale for SBD.

I do this to entertain people but most important to entertain my self. this is a repost actually I just thought it was the right time to repost her since she didn't had much of a chance back then.
:)

Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56416.38
ETH 2379.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35