Digital Cities - Mokum/Amsterdam

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Awhile back I was playing around in my Adobe Illustrator as I was attempting to create a logo.


What I ended up with, was not a logo but simply digital art. I was looking for something which could relate to Amsterdam due to a potential startup I was setting up.

I somehow ended up creating an abstract map of Amsterdam, or how we people from Amsterdam say it: Mokum. It is out homey nickname for our beautiful city which makes my heart overflow with love.


Mokum-Steemit.png





I started out with outlining the city itself and then started drawing more and more lines. This particular one is a mixture of the canals and streets, so watch out! We don't want you to drown :)

After creating this, I realized I should make more of these cities. It was a fun job and I love the end result!



What is the nickname of your hometown?

Do you live in a big city which has a nickname by it's locals aswell? Comment below and who knows I'll be creating your hometown next!



Also want one of these pretty footers? I do them for free! Check out this post for more information!

Sort:  

Lived abroad for 12 years. My last village was Driebergen. No nickname, except during Carnaval, then it's 'Sparrenrijck'

Ah sweet! I was never into the Carnaval though :( I was too north

Very cool. Kind of looks like someone's arm being outstretched to shake someone else's hand lol. Could also be someone holding out a dog's leash and walking their dog. Mokum. Interesting nickname :)

Haha, we are always reaching out for people ;)

Mokum (מקום) is the Yiddish word for "place" or "safe haven".[1] It is similar to the Hebrew word makom (מקום, "place"), from which it is derived.[2] In Yiddish the names of some cities in the Netherlands and Germany were shortened to Mokum and had the first letter of the name of the city, transliterated into the Hebrew alphabet, added to them. Cities named this way were Amsterdam, Berlin, Delft, and Rotterdam.[3]

Mokum, without Aleph, is still used as a nickname for Amsterdam. The nickname was first considered to be Bargoens, a form of Dutch slang, but in the 20th century it lost its negative sound and is now used as a nickname for Amsterdam in a sentimental context. - Wikipedia

Very interesting indeed!

It looks like a really good logo.
Really simple and minimalistic.
I live in London but I don't think there area any nicknames that I can think of for it that sticks out to me.

Thank you!

Personally, I am a fan of minimalistic stuff :)

What about other names? Not specifically sticking out for you, but maybe to others?

Dear @sjennon the country i live is much smaller than your city!!! LOL! Check it out : Mauritius! Well it is nicknamed : Paradise!!!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Haha, paradise.. Man I would love to live there! Google images says its amazing

It is really amazing dear! Why don't you plan your next holidays here!? The best time to be in Mauritius is between October till April!

Haaaa, it's a bit far. And expensive. Very expensive to get there.

But it is really worth the trip dear!!! That's a lifetime experience!

This is really good, Im a graphic designer as well. I think is great, more like an intro for a vid or a presentation. I would try to put some movement on it, to make some kind of flow. Great work, nice to see other steemians designers here. Following and salut to you.

Thanks! I appreciate it man :)

I am more of a webdesigner than a graphic designer, but I am glad with your feedback. How do you mean flow?

That looks pretty cool actually. What did you end up doing to get to those squiggly lines? :P

Squiggly lines? :D

Yes all those lines.. It looks like it was hand drawn :P
lines.PNG
PS. Don't turn my example to it's right, because it appears to have created itself into something else too =I

I wasn't going to say it, but it does look like something else... HAHA!

It's handdrawn, but it's not :p I did everything by hand ofcourse, but in these nice softwares of today you have some nice tools :)

Ahh I get you :) Awesome stuff.

And yeah I only realized after i uploaded and it was too much effort to go and try and fix it :P

Hahaha, it's okay :') I had a good laugh!

Congratulations @sjennon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome, in my city is known for 1000 coffee shops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48