How to drink up and cool off the steeeeam ! .... with Simon Leach

in #art7 years ago

Thanks for joining us here ! . . . . . .

This pottery of Santiago Mellat is located in Traiguera in Castellon province, in Eastern Spain...

I made this clip around early 2008 on a visit there.

Roberto who we see here is handling and finishing off these water containers or 'botijos'

Botijo
Clay container
A botijo, or búcaro in Spanish, is a traditional Spanish porous clay container designed to contain water. The botijo has the property that once filled and placed in the sun, it cools the water that it contains, acting as an evaporative cooler.The botijo has a wide belly and one or more mouths where it is filled and one or more outputs called pitón o pitorro to drink from. The botijo is a typical element of Spanish culture and may vary in shape, color and material.

Thanks for being here ...

Un saludo !

  • Simon

https://simonleachpottery.com
https://www.facebook.com/simon.leach.963

Sort:  

I love to watch your videos with my morning coffee. Two videos this time, thank you. I like traditional functional pottery.

Glad you liked them .... i think I will have a go at making these 'botijos' ...remind me of my time in Spain !

I do hope you will take a video when you make them.

yes i will post first on my YouTube channel and then post across to here.

Very interesting!! I have never seen anything like that.

Thanks for watching , glad you liked !

I love to see pottery being made. :)

Thanks for taking the time to watch ! yes watching a pot growing out of a lump of clay is fascinating for sure.

Thanks for sharing that! Great to see great potters at work. Plus, I really enjoyed his studio music. Haven't heard 4 Non Blondes in years...

Thanks for watching ! we keep practicing !

Congratulations @simonleach! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67