The Italian Renaissance and Giuseppe Arcimboldo

in #art7 years ago

Usually, when I say that I live near Florence (Italy), people replies to me that they know the city of Florence as the crib of Italian Renaissance (14th-16th century). It's true, Florence and some other cities in the Tuscany (a central region of Italy) were the first cities to spread the ideals of the Renaissance culture, especially in literature and I'm very proud of this ^_^

When we think about the Italian Renaissance in the Art, we think about Leonardo da Vinci, Raffaello, Michelangelo, Piero Della Francesca, Donatello and other great artists. It was a very fruitful time for the art and, between many other things, we have to say thanks to that age for the study about the techniques of perspective too.

I have a question in my mind: does people know that during the Italian Renaissance there were very different artists and some different styles? Well, I want to introduce you a famous italian artist that, in the time of Italian Renaissance,  used a totally different style from Michelangelo or Raffaello: Giuseppe Arcimboldo.

The Spring (1563) - Arcimboldo (source)

This italian painter is know for his imaginative portraits where he uses to paint some different objects (flowers, vegetables, books, etc) to create faces. 

I agree with R. Barthes (a French critic) who wrote that whe can think about the philosophy behind the Arcimboldo's works as based in linguistic: "without creating new signs he confused them by mixing and combining elements that then played a role in the innovation of language.". Isn't it cool? ^_^

The librarian (1566) - Arcimboldo (source)

Arcimboldo was born in Milan  in the 1526 and he was a court portraitist in Vienna and Prague. His surrealist portraits were admired by contemporaries and also today, they are really a surprise for the eyes: if you look them at a distance, you see normal portraits, but if you look them closely you can see every single object that composes the face.

Vegetable in the bowl - Arcimboldo (source)

If you turn the painting upside down, you can see this:

The gardener - Arcimboldo (source)


I hope you liked this content about our Renaissance time ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Thanks so much for this tremendous class! I need to visit Italy and this will be a talk this evening here at home so we can decide the next trip (well, my next trip is to Portugal, but we never know what future holds)! The Librarian is my favorite!

The paintings of Arcimboldo are in some different museums all over the worlds, maybe you can find some of them also in Portugal! ^_^

Sure, sure, I can find them elsewhere, but I can't find Italy! This is the goal! =)

Italy it's ever a good idea ;) Florence is ever an EXCELLENT idea ^^ Ps: Italian is very similar to Spanish, it's an added value ^^

And similar to Portuguese as well (my native language), and it will be a pleasure to be there and listen to all the country has to offer! (And if you want to write your comments in Italian, I will probably understand most of it. Feel free to do it, I ask you to!) Thanks so much for the beautiful friendship! =)

@manandezo , if the portuguese is similar to Spanish, we can undertstand each other even if we speck our own native language. When I was in Spain me years ago I perfectly understood my friends when they spocke Spanish and they perfectly understood me when I spoke Italian, there are more words that are the same in both languages ^^ Grazie a te per la bella amicizia e le belle parole ^^

Então, esse comentário será para selar o laço de amizade, um comentário totalmente em português, de um professor de língua portuguesa, literatura e tradutor, que sou eu, para uma artistas dos sonhos coloridos, pincéis e telas de algodão que é você, @silviabeneforti! Abraços e mande um abraço para seu esposo também!

wow, fantastico. Io ho capito quello che hai scritto! La derivazione latina delle nostre lingue ci aiuta a capire quello che scriviamo nelle nostre diverse lingue. Bella sensazione! Ti ringrazio moltissimo per le tue parole. Le apprezzo molto! ^_^

Fun post @silviabeneforti. The Spring is definitely my favorite--my heart dear to the garden for certain. I appreciate the reminder about this artist.

I love the Spring too and thanks so much for your words, @everlove ^_^

Wow, I didn't know about this artist. Very interesting style!

Thank you so much for sharing!

Thanks to you for your comment ^_^

This is my favorite kind of art! Thank you for sharing @silviabeneforti

The thought that these surrealistic pieces have more than 400 years make me crazy! they are really "actual" and beautiful!

I am in deep love for Italy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57