Me, my moments of anxiety and my art

in #art7 years ago

If I think about my past, from my adolescence to now, I have always suffered from little or great moments of anxiety. 

The anxiety, for the Oxford Dictionary, is:

the state of feeling nervous or worried that something bad is going to happen
a worry or fear about something
a strong feeling of wanting to do something or of wanting something to happen

When I was 10-15 years I used a series of "rituals" to control my anxieties, for example I switched on and off the light in my bedroom three times before to sleep, I  checked under the bed and then wandering around, I rolled the corner of my pillow between my fingers until the fabric was broken.

As an adult, studying clinical psychology at the University and working in the fields of health care for drug addictioner and/or mental disorders, I started to "work" on myself thanks to the help of some collegues (more of my ex collegues are psychoterapists ^_^)

Against my anxiety I found comfort walking, drinking hot milk with a bit of cinnamom, more chamomils, meeting friends to laugh, joke and think positive. In some very difficult moments, when I couldn't see other solution in any way, I used chemistry (anxiolytics), always being careful that they were only isolated episodes.

In the Art I found the best way to contrast my "bad" moments, I fill my dark "area" with many colors and many funny freaky subjects and I think it's beautiful and usefull at the same time!

Yes, life it's not always full of roses and flowers, sometimes we met some thorns, but our fragilities are parts of ourselves and we have to learn to live with these. ^_^


See ya soon

Silvia



silvia beneforti
Sort:  

I like that your art is part of helping yourself cope, too... I have always been an anxious type person, and find that having a creative outlet is a very good "therapy."

I second what @denmarkguy says here and have found that is often common among creative people.

Sure, Art and creativity can be a very good "therapy". Sometimes I teach in some crafts workshops for children and parents and I can see that they are funny and relaxing for the partecipants, nice! ^_^

Upped and Resteemed. Cute art and great positive message. Taking control of your anxiety and utilising different strategies takes time, but is worth the work.

I love the block art, especially the screw legs! Don't you just love how art can be some of the best therapy. So much can come out of us when we allow ourselves to be vulnerable. Thank you for sharing your process. Great way to work through some of the sticky spots.

Thanks for your nice words, @everlove ! ^_^

Wow, thanks for this honest and uplifting post.

Thanks to you for stopping by, dear @lakshmi ^_^

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72