Me and the different medium

in #art7 years ago

Premise:

I started to paint using watercolors. After some years, I can say that it's one of the most difficult medium to start, because you can't correct the errors, you must be able to control the coat and the right mix of water and watercolors (I use the godet watercolors),  to be ready to destroyed more and more sheets of paper ^_^

Only from 1 year and half I'm using oil colors and I love them so much! I can correct the errors again and again, I can easely mix the colors to create new shades, the oil colors dry slowly on the palette so I can use them for a long time! Ok, maybe the scent of the turpentine isn't lovely, but it isn't a problem for me ^_^

Me and the tempera colours:

Some months ago I "explored" the tempera colors (or coloUrs? I'm not sure, sorry) to learn how realize some texture effects using them. 

For the texture effects I use, at first, to paint the background using a single uniform colour (here in Italy we call this "campitura"), when it's dry I use a dry brush and only few (very few) colours in contrast with the background and very light coat. The results are interesting, really!

In the following pics you can see one of my (few) tempera paintings: the lady ^_^


As you can see, in the right bottom of the painting there is a "wrong" coat (a white spot), but other than that, I'm satisfied from the results ^_^

Good Night to you all

Silvia

silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Oils are lovely, one of my favourite mediums, but not always practical. Great painting!

I agree with you, the oil s are one of my favorite mediums, but they aren't practical. I 'm lucky, because I live in a home-lab, me and my hubby have one large room where he teaches in painting/sculpting class and where we can use oils and other colors/materials ^_^

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.61 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43