Making some tiny houses using paper and glue ^_^

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Here in Italy people started to celebrate the Carnival and in some italian city like Viareggio (a small city close to me) there is the tradition to create beautiful, spectacular floats with the effigies of famous characters like politicians, actors and sports characters.

You car read more about the Viareggio's carnival here, but you have to know those beautiful 8and big!) effigies are made using a tecniques that here in Italy we call cartapesta ( Papier - Mâchè ). There are a lot of different recipes to make the _cartapesta,_the ingredients are various, from the vinyl adhesive to the flour to a mix of different glues, but the main ingredient is the paper! In my child, like every italian child, my teacher at school used to help us to create something using this tecniques and so, the first time I made it, I used some stripes of the old newspapers mixed with vinyl adesive and water.

In time, I tryed different ways to create something using the cartapesta tecniques, using recipes to have a sort of paper clay or just to use cover something using stripes of paper glued with a special mix.

Today I created some tiny houses using different layers of papers. I also painted the first one to understand how the colors work on the surface and the result was good:

I like the texture created by the different layers of papers because it's similar to the walls of an old house. To paint this one I used my oil colors and they created interesting shades of colors, so I'm ready to create an entire little village all made by paper ^_^

In the following pic you can see the house before I added colors:

See ya soon with the other tiny houses ^_^

Silvia

silvia beneforti

Sort:  

I'd like to see that paper village finished. Imagine that tiny beings coexist in walls of paper and glue of infinite ocher and yellow like the old roman houses. Regards

I like so much the shades of ocher of the old Roman house! Here in Tuscany we have a lot of houses in the shades of ocher, it's a sort of tradition for us ^_^

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I love little houses. I'm always so fascinated by things in miniature.

I have a collection of little houses I take out at Christmas that are made from cardboard/glue/ and glitter that were popular in the 1950/60s. They have little holes in the back for you to put in the fairly lights we use at Christmas and the tiny windows are made with colored tissue paper, so the light shines through. They always make me smile and think of happy times. These have that feel.

I hope you make an entire village.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78