Houses and some Italian idioms

in #art7 years ago

Here in Italy we use the same word for home and house and this word is CASA (pronunciation "ˈka.sa"). 

"Casa" is the place where we live, where we have a dinner with our family, where we take care of our pets, where we have our sofa, our pajama. The "casa" is our nest, the place where we can lie down or make a good coffee for us and our friends.

In Italy we have an idiom to say that someone is a very generous and good person: "ha il cuore grande come una casa" (literally means "He/she have the heart big as a house").

When we want to say that someone is really a great friend for us and he/she often stay at home with us, we say that he/she is "uno di casa" (literally "home's person").

I work at home, so you can image how important is my home for me and why I often use this "subject" in my artworks ^_^

In the previous pics you can see a couple of my "ink on paper" about the houses ("vumap" is the nickname that sometimes I used for my ink/watercolors painting), my home isn't similar to these houses, but it's my home and I like it so much!!! :D

At last, an Italian nursery rhyme :

"Casa mia casa mia

per piccina che tu sia

tu mi sembri

una badia."

Literally means (sorry, in the literally English translation there aren't rhymes): 

"My home my home

you might be small 

but to me you're an abbey "


See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Beautiful work! Looking forward to seeing you verification badge!

I just saw my badge in my email, wowowowow!! Thanks so much! ^_^

GREAT TO HEAR! :)

I love learning new things from your posts, and great work too! :D

Thanks so much, @opheliafu ! I love to share something about the Italian culture, I think it's interesting for who read :D We are really full of curious idioms and proverbs ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful work, thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67