Maple in Mourning Light - Original Gouache Painting

in #art7 years ago

maple morning.jpg

The light bathing the maple tree in front of my house was diffuse and the atmosphere serene. I decided to capture the lower contrast scene with a gouache color study. Working out similar midtones in gouache can be difficult considering how colors dry to different values over time. I also was using a mid-tone gray paper to paint. That tends to soak up some of the brilliance of colors. I quite liked the end result, even with the "happy accident" of a bit too much pink in the sky. I think it gives it a slightly unsettling atmosphere.

Sort:  

I like the pink contrast. Your painting sure makes clear that there is more than one "green" out there in nature. Between the plants and the light, there's so many different "greens". Enjoy your maple!

After many years of painting from life, I'm convinced that there are more variations of green than any other hue on the color wheel.

Lee, I was going to ask you what pigments/ colors do you use for your greens?

Hi @siloe On my oil palette, I have Viridian, Chromium Oxide Green, and Thalo green. Those give a wide range of course mixed with other colors, too. Hope that helps.

It does help. I suspected you had to use more potent specific pigments to get that brilliance. I need to try extending my palette. I usually mix the greens from yellows and blue

Wow! That's so interesting. When I have been doing image processing and sample a point for its color, I've been so surprised at what color it actually gives me from "green" plants. It's been confusing, lol. It's amazing, too, to see a whole hillside of trees during the spring green-up. Every kind of tree has its own colors when it leafs out. It makes an interesting world for you artists! :D

Thanks! And thanks for stopping by!

I like this very much. Well done!

Thanks friend, it means a lot coming from you!

I think the pink works. It's not too much for me. I love this painting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42