Discover Your Body - Art Contest #2 (Original, traditional artwork + step by step)

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemians! 

Today's drawing is my entry to @yoganarchista art contest #discoveryourbody

The contest is about practicing and learning to draw the human body using only traditional art no photography or digital artworks are allowed. 

It's a 14-week long contest, where artists will draw each week a selected body part, and this week selected part was the lower leg.

 You can learn more about the contest →HERE← & check other artists artwork.

 Here's my drawing and the tools I used: 

  • Graphite Pencils (2H, B, 2B, 4B) 
  • 2B Mechanical pencil 0.5mm 
  • Cotton Buds ( q-tip ), Kneaded Eraser, Plastic Eraser, a tissue. 
  • Canson Paper size A4 


And here's the progress showing and explaining how I drew it: 

Step 1- I always start with drawing the basic outlines, using a 2H Graphite Pencil, this helps to easily erase the lines or simply draw above it. 


Step 2- Next I fill in the body outlines using the hatching technique with a 2H. 


Step 3- Then I blend it with a tissue and a q-tip for the small parts and the edges, to create a base for the skin. 


Step 4- I start shading the darkest areas using the layering technique starting from light to dark with a B followed with 2B and finally 4B mainly at the edges. 


Step 5- I followed the same process for the full body using the shading and layering techniques to create that 3D illusion for the skin and make it look realistic, then I used a 2B Mechanical pencil 0.5mm to add some details for the feets. 


Finally, I added the curves in the bed using 2H and the used q-tip following the same techniques (shading and layering). 



Sorry for the low-quality images, here's a scanned version with better resolution, so I hope you'll like it. 


Thanks for reading. Feel free to share your thought and let me know if you have any questions. 

Can you give my artwork a name or title?

Peace.

Sort:  

Your shading is beautiful. So soft and photorealistic.

Thank you @sethlinson, I appreciate your comment. I try my best to make the drawing look realistic.

Bravo

Dibujo y Valor muy bien logrados. Suerte en el concurso.

muchas gracias @zoniaespina y buena suerte para usted también.

"A pair of sexy legs" That's what I would call it. Nice piece of art! I like it. This is one of my favourite in this contest. Good luck buddy! Have a nice day.

Thanks a lot @kennitgabriel, for the comment and the title, much appreciated brother 😉

Thank you for the detailed instruction. Will try it myself:)

You are welcome @yingzoe, glad you like it!

Is great drawing, amazing effort.

Thanks brother.

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33