Taming the Surf Dragon

in #art5 years ago

Work still in progress but probably mostly completed. Also, if anyone has a better title I'm willing to go with yours. Needs more white foam along the rear edge of the board where it's cutting the wave.

So I live in Hawaii and haven't been working a proper job since my four month stint through the mainland states. Saturday my girlfriend and I were walking with another couple through Waikiki and stopped at the art show that they have every weekend on the street along the back edge of the zoo.

I've been working on some comic-art to sell at my artist alley booth at Comic Con Aloha, but that's not until February and I need to make some cash before then, so I talked to the coordinator about getting some space on the Waikiki Zoo Wall. It turns out, it only costs $10 to display work to sell to tourists. I can't use any of my DC Vs D&D images because they are pretty strict on owning copyrights (which strangely is not the case at Comic Cons), so I figured, I'd better start making some art to sell so I can eat between now and February.

I started on this last night and reached this point after about four hours. Little bit more work and I'll print some out (thank you Costco photo center!) mount it in a matte frame, seal it in plastic, and boom! Pretty cool art that appeals to people besides comic and D&D nerds. If I can get 4 or 5 more of these done in the next 7 to 10 days I think I'll be ready to show up to the art show and see if I can sell some prints.

Process! Chalk layer.

Ink layer.

Color scribbles to lay down a base coat to smoosh around with the flat oil paint and smooth watercolor brushes.

Final print is above. Here's the process gif.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://mccomics.mattslawblog.com/2019/12/09/taming-the-surf-dragon/
Sort:  

You've been chosen to be featured in @creativecoin's 🔥DAILY BURN🔥 post!

Ya know? I like the title. It almost feels like "Taming of the Shrew"... so it's like a play... almost. I dig it.

Also, thank you so much for sharing little bits of your process! I'm learning to use a tablet and program with layers and seeing it in action helps tremendously.
😍@carrieallen

Thanks! Unfortunately with this process there's a big gap between the final two steps. Mostly because it involves just pushing around paint on the same layer. It is actually very similar to working with real oil paint. I'm using Clip Studio Paint Pro on a Microsoft Surface Pro 4.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @carrieallen.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

WOW!!! What an amazing piece of art!!!! As for the name, I like yours, but one other comes to mind... "Riding Neptunes Flame" :)

Thanks for your praise. I live on kind words. :)

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65181.06
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48