My Life Is A Working Vacation

in #art5 years ago


Me and my girlfriend at Crater Lake in Oregon.

So, a few months ago I was like most comic artists and published authors... working in a corporate job 9 hours a day Monday through Friday. Right now, I am unemployed and living as a nomad. I've still been updating my two weekly comics, but as a few of my followers know, I've been doing it from the road, uploading my comics from free Wi-Fi zones all over the Pacific Northwest.

I wish I could say that I struck it big with my comic in newspaper syndication deals, book royalties, and a huge influx of Steem income so that I am living life off my artistic endeavors.. But, no, I really just left my job to live as a (very comfortable) vagabond traveling around with this lovely lady.

One of the advantages of not owning any property and not having any debt is that I can just take off and go wherever I like. I gave my office like two months notice and trained my replacement, so it's not like I just dropped off the face of the Earth. But I decided... well some may say that I was persuaded... to live on the road and travel with my beautiful partner.

We may start a blog at some point on "Alternative Affordable Travel." In fact, she was preparing to teach a class on that subject this Fall at Santa Barbara City College, but the admin dropped the ball on that and she was benched.

I should also start posting more photos. I have very long arms so I'm good at selfies.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://mccomics.mattslawblog.com/2019/08/31/my-life-is-a-working-vacation/
Sort:  

Wow thats brave of you to do so! I wish you success in your endeavors man!

Thanks! More people should bail out of traditional jobs and live as nomads in the near-future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82