You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gale Force - original paintings

in #art7 years ago

A series of paintings where I paint creatures/figures standing up and facing the storm.

It's exatly this kind of (a bit weird) stories around your paintings, that keeps fascinating me.

Also that the size of the painting refers to the gale number, is such an inspiring idea.

Do you create those ideas before you start painting, during the painting process or after you did the Gale Force 8 painting (which is my favorite of the series so far)?

Sort:  

Hey, thanks :) If I have to describe it, it's really organic - a painting leads to an idea, which leads to a series, which leads to other paintings... Or an idea leads to a painting which leads to a story... It really goes back and forth in intuitive ways - just like you had confidence in the package arriving, remember? It's hard to describe, but I think you know what I mean - when you mailed me you were certain it would arrive somehow -- I guess somehow I trust the process will find it's own way of giving me ideas, stories, paintings, words, music, inspiration, ... to continue.

If that makes sense, somehow, I hope it does :)

And, by the way, your confidence about the package arriving somehow strenghtened mine :)

So, recapping your question: sometimes an idea leads to a series, and sometimes a series leads to an idea. It all works best when it's fun :)

Thanks for describing this process, totally makes sense to me, cause I also work in an intuitive way most of the time. Maybe I should also try to embed some of my works into a context. At least it's very inspiring. But as you said, "it works best, when it's fun..."

your confidence about the package arriving somehow strenghtened mine :)

That's an interesting observation, cause the other way around having doubts, often weakens the confidence of others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65895.15
ETH 2679.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93