O Superman // The Making of a Crypto Artwork

in #art6 years ago (edited)


O_Superman_sml.jpeg
O Superman, digital art 2018

 

Dear friends,

some people think, that using software and generative algorithms to create art, is something, that everbody can do. In my opinion, the result still depends on various decisions, that I make as an artist, rather than on the tools I'm using.

Following the invitation of @sndbox to share my latest #cryptoart, I wanted to show you a bit of the process of my work called "O Superman", that is available as a rare #erc20 token at the cryptoart marketplace SuperRare.

The Source

It all started with this photography of my younger self, that was shot in the Dominican Republic in 1990. Because I'm not taking myself too serious, I used Photoshop a few years later to put a Superman logo on my chest, that looked as if it had been caused by a sunburn.

domrep33_sml.jpeg

superman2.jpg


The Process

Since I have started experimenting with crypto-art, I took a lot of old photos and transformed them using software like Processing and Glitché. In this case I added scanlines to blur all the edges of the photo and alienated my face with a 'liquify' filter. In the next step I used Photoshop again, to repair the artifacts at my neck.

IMG_2500_sml.jpg

Superman_fixed.jpg


After that, I've run a process, that tranforms images into lines-art.

IMG_2554_Fotor_sml_Fotor.jpg

Next Version

Although I somewhat liked the result, I wasn't finished with the work and tried a different approach. So here is a bit of the process of my second version:

IMG_3491.jpg

IMG_3494.jpg

IMG_3492.jpg

IMG_3496.jpg


As you can see, I used various manipulations again (like glitch, channel-shift and mosh) to deconstruct and transform the original image into something, that leaves room for interpretation. Here is the finished piece in full size:

IMG_3496.jpg

Crypto Art?

Although I usually do not make art, that explicitly deals with #crypto related topics, I call myself a cryptoartist, because I recently started to tokenize a lot of digital art and offered them on crypto-art marketplaces like SuperRare, KnownOrigin and MakersPlace.

I found the confidence to do so, after I shared my art at Steemit for the last 2.5 years and received a lot of positive feedback. In addition, I'm into crypto since 2014 and the whole topic became somewhat the center of my thinking.

Concepts like being able to tokenize my works and transform them into a scarce, tradable token enables me to independently sell my art and to even benefit from secondary sells.

No wonder, I sometimes feel like a Superman ;-)

Thanks for stopping by!

@shortcut

Sort:  

I never tried the cryptoart, but it looks not so simple and, sure, not for everyne. I think is like more other kinds of art: people watch it and think "ehy, I can do it by myself!". Sure, they are in wrong, because when you buy a piece of art you're buying more than that piece, you're buying the skills that the artist used to make it, the passion, the love, the emotion and a lot of work "behind the scenes". Watching your piece of cryptoart I'm sure I can't make something like this! Ps: I like this piece ^_^

Thanks a lot for your feedback! I'm glad, you like the artwork :-)

I agree, that this kind of art is not for everyone, but on the other hand, #cryptoart for me means, that you're going to 'tokenize' your work at one point to sell it for crypto. Although a lot of #cryptoartists use generative and glitch algorithms, there is even the possibility to put traditional artworks in the blockchain (see here). In addition, there seem to be quite a few traditional artists at MakersPlace like @reinhard-schmid for example.

Cryptoart intrigued me so much, not just because we can tokenize our work (and this is an excellent reason, always! ^_^), but also because I love to try new mediums, new tools, new materials, etc. It could be an interesting "experiment" for me (and I love to experiment something new), I have to try!

Thats good idea for superman logo on chest by sunbirth! I like the idea and with your crypto digital art work along with the logo.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations shortcut, you upvoted 1000 posts via the @share2steem Curation Trails !

You reached LVL 3 and earned 0.04 SBD !
Move to LVL 4 by upvoting 2000 posts !

!tipuvote 0.04

Check the achievements list on https://share2steem.io !

Participate in our Christmas Challenge : 5 SBI shares to win !

This message is generated automatically.

The sunburn one is so funny!!! XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Hallo @shortcut super was Du mit einem Bild machen kannst 👍😵

Danke dir! Freut mich, dass dir meine Kunst gefällt :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Taking art to a whole new next level ;)

Congratulations @shortcut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 41000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @shortcut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.530 which ranks you at #556 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post is supported by $0.04 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50