Eruption // Making of a Glitch Diptych

in #art6 years ago

Euption_Fotor.jpg

Dear friends,

you might have noticed, that I recently started using @share2steem a lot, a service which enables you to crosspost your tweets or instagram-posts on Steemit.

As I'm focussing on my digital art and even trying to do a daily artwork for as long as I can (as part of my New Year's resolution), it's a perfect way to share my creations on different social media sites and promote Steemit at the same time.

Certainly I'm still going to provide some more detailed behind-the-scenes or making-of posts on Steemit. This is one of these.

Making-of "Eruption" Diptych

It all started with a sunset photography, I took two days ago with my smartphone while I was practicing roller skating with my youngest daughter.
IMG_3659.jpg

Then I added scanlines above and below the horizon...

IMG_3696.jpg

...followed by adding some radiant scanlines in the vertical direction.

IMG_3698.jpg

Then I used a liquify tool to manually add some waves of distortion...

IMG_3700.jpg

... and further advanced the distortions with a tool, that emulates LCD glitches.

IMG_3701.jpg

To eliminate the lighter parts above and below the center, I used a tool, that repeats selected lines, while shifting them left or right.

IMG_3724.jpg

In the final step, I selected the most interesting parts of the image and optimized the colour levels and contrast.

IMG_3723_Fotor_border.jpg

For me it looked like photo taken during a volcanic eruption and the film inside the camera (or maybe even the camera itself) started to melt. Here is the second part of the diptych in a larger view.

IMG_3723_Fotor_Fotor.jpg

Grab it on SuperRare

Like most of my recent digital artworks, the "Eruption" diptych will be available as a rare cryptoart token at SuperRare soon.

I recently noticed, that there are some art-whales around, that started collecting cryptoart and it turned out, that cryptoart even becomes a sort of investment opportunity. Although I'm not a fan of buying art (only) for investment reasons, an artist at SuperRare even gets a 10% cut of every secondary sale, which is all handled by smart contracts. Try to find something similar in the fiat driven art-world.

Thanks for watching!

I hope you found my post inspiring to start making or collecting digital art.

Would you buy crypto art? Why or why not?

Looking forward to your comments!
@shortcut

Sort:  

Awesome, as always! Find it very inspiring and a nice counterbalance to my traditional work. You might enjoy https://snorpey.github.io/jpg-glitch/ if you haven't found it already.

I started my own collection of crypto art already and find it quite addictive!

Thanks a lot for your feedback and the link. I didn‘t know that tool yet. I wished, I had more cryptos to buy art, because it’s quite satisfying to support fellow artists and invest at the same time. Maybe I should re-invest a certain percentage of my art sales. I will think about it.

I love your glitchy stuff this turned out great! I have included it in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thanks a lot! Really appreciate your curation of art at Steemit :-)

Your creative and editing skills on photos really looks awesome and artistic, I do love artwork and if I find anyone that is pleasing to my eyes I can buy it provided the price is right for me @shortcut

Thanks for your kind feedback! You can always make offers (at SuperRare), that are below the asking price. I often tend to accept serious offers, as I want my art to spread widley. (Some other artists wait until their asking price is reached, though.)

Really nice piece you have made! Bravo!!!

Thanks a lot for your feedback! I'm looking forward to seeing your animation ;-)

Congratulations @shortcut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 42000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @shortcut, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for your support. Much appreciated ;-)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks a lot, appreciate your support :-)

Hi @shortcut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.548 which ranks you at #546 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 548).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62899.90
ETH 2688.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56