I Recreated "Paint with a Twist" in My Living Room and So Can You!

in #art7 years ago

Having been bored to absolute tears for months, I decided along with my mother-in-law that enough was enough! In order to stay close to sane in a very boring town, we set out to actually DO something for once. She mentioned painting, something I'd only done in grade school like a million years ago. My husband is an extremely creative individual, so he was in right away, so long as we ate first. My mother-in-law's husband was a bit reluctant but again motivated by the prospect of good food beforehand.

16835855_749947061843738_2380962039300939478_o.jpg

I won't bore you with a big review of the experience, instead, I'll give a brief overview. Before you get the wrong idea, I did have a great time! The fun I had was greatly influenced by my company whom I enjoy very much. At one-hundred and forty dollars for the group, it was honestly a pricey adventure. The entry fee covers your small take-home canvas, a thimble full of paint, the instructor and the use of brushes and aprons. Drinks are BYOB! Honestly, at forty dollars per head, they could at least provide a pop or water, but I digress. Below is a photo of the entire class, I'm in there somewhere with my gang.

16830908_749947068510404_1374522202158566484_n.jpg

This past December I thought it would be interesting to recreate the "Paint with a Twist" scenario, but in my living room with my husband. I tracked down the tools on Amazon, reading dozens of reviews to ensure I got the most bang for my buck. I had some acrylic paint in my craft room but bought a couple additional colors just for fun. Below are the supplies I purchased online with links.

12 Pack 8X10 Canvas $11.96
http://amzn.to/2Fx56ha

Table Top Easel $15.99
http://amzn.to/2mrec6v

25 Piece Brush Set $6.56
http://amzn.to/2D65lSF

18 Piece Acrylic Paint Set $18.07
http://amzn.to/2CXL8um

25289663_896817577156685_371263434588695985_n.jpg

What I loved about this whole thing was that it's an activity we could do multiple times at zero or very little cost. We both had six canvases, easels should last forever, our paint seemed to go far and the brushes will hold up with proper care. The only thing Amazon couldn't provide was a teacher. A quick Youtube search landed me on "theartsherpa" a channel with countless quirky follow along videos perfect for our skill level.

Trees.jpg

We took some artistic freedom on colors and style but definitely needed to be guided through. My husband and I are both introverts so this is ideal for us! That and we just don't like to be rushed while in a creative mindset. With this setup, we can take as long as we like, pause the instructor, take a snack break and really enjoy the session.

So now that you have the ption, would you rather go to a class or turn your living room into an impromptu art studio? Let me know in the comments below!

As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Disclaimer: This post includes associate links to items I purchased myself from Amazon. Let's keep Steemit an honest place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69