3 Dimensional Stained Glass Art

in #art7 years ago

IMG_2925.JPG
This is a stained glass piece that I created for an art show here with the theme being "yellow". It is a jack Spaniard wasp. I had a lot of fun creating this piece. I like to push the boundaries in my stained glass work and try to do things that are not standard in stained glass art. The legs and the wings on this piece do not lay flat and create a 3D element.

Sort:  

Thank you. 🤗

Wow, I have done flat stained glass, and am just looking at your piece knowing the planning, and wondering how to hold it for the 3D aspects...I am impressed.

Thank you. It was done in a few phases. I created the body and the legs but didn't attach them. Then I designed the wings. Once all of the wasp was actually created I made the nest and attached the body to the nest. Then proceeded to attach the legs to the body and then the wings. It was tough to figure out how to stabilize that upper wing and reinforce it. The last step was putting on the antennae because they were the most prone to getting ripped off. It was also difficult to figure out the weight distribution so that it wouldn't change orientation when I hung it on the chain. It was definitely a challenging piece but it was very fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82