My First Steemit Art Share: A Time Lapse Video of a Mandala

in #art8 years ago

Mandalas have always spoken to me and I find creating them is therapeutic.

In fact, I was unknowingly sketching mandala drawings as a young girl before I even knew what they were. Since then, I find myself doodling mandalas whenever I need to clear my head. This is my first creation shared online. You can find the time lapse video below.

No one put my feelings into words better than this article which says,

"Mandalas are circular designs that reflect the wholeness of the person creating them. According to Carl Jung (pronounced Yoong), ” a mandala is the psychological expression of the totality of the self” (1973: 20). Jung, a Swiss psychiatrist, discovered the significance of mandalas through his own inner work."

and

"The mandala is a symbol and an instrument of natural energy within you that both gives you stability and pulls you beyond yourself to become more whole, more completely who you really are. The mandalas you create symbolize you: your body, your psychological state, and your place in the world. Mandalas also contain within their circular form the essence of the universe, the seasons, and cycles of nature. Mandalas translate the vast mysteries of human life to a scale that can be apprehended."

For these reasons, I'd like my next tattoo to be a mandala wrist cuff.

I've been practicing and sketching for years to hopefully find that perfectly balanced, symbolic design for me. (If you're not sure what a wrist cuff tattoo looks like, use this Google search to see some examples.)

Here is the time lapsed video of this sketch:

It may not be my most perfect design since I was working with a bandage on one of my fingers, but I try not to strive for perfection. Try being the operative word. ;) If you enjoyed this mandala/post, let me know in the comments and follow me to see more.


All the best,
Britt

Sort:  

I love it! I too drew them a lot when I was young, isn't it funny that it seems to be instinctual? Very interesting post!

It really is! And thank you! Must be something to do with the visual order that's created. The article I linked for the quotes talks about how babies and humans are drawn to circles, which is where it all starts.

Great post! Check out my beautiful street art galleries from the best artists in the world 🍀

Very cool. I like it. Nice work, following.

Thank you for sharing this I have thought about mandalas off and on since I first learned but never drew one. Your beautiful time lapse has inspired me! It also reminded me of a poem I wrote about the beauty of circles that I'm now inspired to finish... Happy I found this, following you now :)

I'm so happy to hear that! Art certainly has a curious ripple effect of inspiring other beautiful things. Following you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54