stills from The Angel of Love // inspired by Giorgio de Chirico

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Giorgio de Chirico sexdeathrebirth 1.jpg

Giorgio de Chirico sexdeathrebirth 2.jpg

Giorgio de Chirico sexdeathrebirth 3.jpg

Giorgio de Chirico sexdeathrebirth 4.jpg

These are stills from a video I made for the Surrealist Erotica bonus section and the What is Surrealism series. It is inspired by a dress Giorgio de Chirico designed for the 1929 ballet Le Bal, produced by Les Ballets Russes de Serge Diaghilev. I used a skirt that I had already and then I made the top piece out of some fabric I had around and I made the wings out of paper.

Giorgio de Chirico ballet.jpg
One of Giorgio de Chirico's costumes for Le Bal, 1929

ballet 2.jpg
The dress, along with other costumes designed by Giorgio de Chirico for Le Bal, 1929

Detail's of my re-created top and wings:

le bal remake .JPG

twitter icon.png vimeo icon.png band camp.png instagram icon.png deviantart icon.png tumblr icon.png website.png

Sort:  

Those costumes are beautiful. I like the drawing on them. Theyre like toys. I dont know anything about the ballet. Is there any connection to surrealism? Or are you just picking random references? Really interesting.

Giorgio de Chirico was sort of a surrealist before surrealism... many of the surrealist painters cite him as an influence... so that's what I'm drawing on. He also designed the set... I found this video of a modern production, its hard to see the costumes, but you can see the set. Le Bal on YouTube

Thanks for the link. Its wonderful.

Very Beautiful!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65