Surreal Art Contest: Day 6

in #art7 years ago

day6.jpg

It's now day 6 of my Surreal Art Contest and I realize that I won't have time to meet my goal of creating one original surreal drawing for each day of the contest. This post shows my fifth and final drawing.

For anyone who doesn't know, I've decided to draw a surreal piece of art for every day of the contest. No, I cannot win my own contest, but I want to participate nonetheless and work alongside my fellow contributing artists.

Here is my fifth piece:


The Stallion

The Stallion.jpg

Pencil on Paper
9" by 11"
January 21, 2018

The drawing is inspired by the tall elephants in Temptation of St. Anthony by Salvador Dali.

I've always found there to be something creepy about unnaturally elongated figures. I'm sure I'm not alone in that feeling. I just wanted to draw an unsettling, unnatural beast. I hope you like it!


If you're interested in creating a piece of surreal art and submitting it to this contest, please look at the original post here. There's a little less than a day left, but you might be able to manage it if you're quick!

~Seth

Sort:  

surrealism does not necessarily refer to Salvador Dali's work. the world has changed considerably with the image of an artist that has gone beyond what Dali expressed in painting

I like this one, well done how the bony hips resemble the elpehant's ears, who's head kinda looks like a tail, surreally

That was totally unintentional, but now that you mention it I can definitely see the elephant ears.

The real art is usually Unintentional, I think we are moving from surrealism, to Instrumentalism. We are instruments to creativity, too much rationale limits the boundaries of what we can channel... Something like that...

hola, me llamo poderosamente tu obra, muy creativo hermano.

Sí. Vi su presentación en el puesto del concurso principal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34