Captain of the Enterprise - A Gouache Painting

in #art8 years ago

This is a painting that I did in a high school art class about eight years ago. Just like I said in my last post, I'm going to be focusing a lot more on my art going forward on this blog. I'll be sharing many old pieces as well as some of my newer work. 

The Process

I believe I made this piece for a class called "Media Arts". This course was primarily focused on mixed media and using digital techniques to create art. The assignment was to use a photograph and turn it into a painting. We could use something we shot, or find something online. I obviously chose the latter path.

  • After selecting the photo, we increased the contract so that there were only 5-10 layers of colour. 
  • Then we projected it onto a large sheet of watercolour paper and traced it. 
  • Finally it was painted using gouache.

I'm very fond of gouache. I like it because it behaves like watercolour but the results are much more vibrant. 

I decided to fill the background with Captain Kirk quotes, many of which are blocked by his head or cut off by the edge of the page. But knowing how obsessive Star Trek fans can be, I'm sure many of them will be able to fill in the gaps.

Here's the full painting:

Captain of the Enterprise

Thanks for reading/looking.

~Seth Tomlinson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75