A Picture is Worth 1000 Dots - My Foray Into Stipple Painting

in #art8 years ago

It must have been seven or eight years ago that I did this painting. I spent hours and hours painstakingly dabbing every single dot onto the page. All for a painting of a stupid artichoke.

I'm proud of the results, but it really wasn't worth it.

Never again will I try to do anything like this. 

~Seth

Sort:  

I like it! I think we are on the same train of thought as I was up last night putting together my pointillism video for youtube, lol! Have you had a go at it recently? It sent me a little mad yesterday trying to draw a landscape. I think the density of you mark making is very successful in this piece, it adds definition and tone.

That is really an interesting medium. I've never heard of stipple painting, but I can see where you might think it's not worth the time commitment. Very amazing results, though. ;)

that's what ink jet printers do in much faster ;)
(impressive though)

Thanks!

It's a form of pointillism. Any art that makes a picture out of individual dots, blocks, whatever is an example of pointillism. That can include paintings like this or those pictures that are made up of many photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58