A Love Letter to Roads

in #art8 years ago

The Song of Statists

An Original Love Poem

My love, my dear sweet love
If I think of love, I think of you

Asphalt and paint
So simple and beautiful

So pure and dark
You spread for me across the land  

I stand before you
And take in your majesty

I’m astounded by your size
Your length and breadth amaze me

I know I could ride on you all night
I move over you until I come, come home

You guide me straight to my journey's end
My tailpipe sputters all over you

Ladies...


I thank the State for their work
For the violence that was done on your behalf

My love, without this you could not have been
Only through theft could you be made

Your plans are obscured
Your recipe a mystery

No individual could ever know it
No company can fathom your secrets

Only the State can give me my love
Please give it to me

Whatever it takes


Concluding Thoughts

Sorry things got a little weird and gross. Actually I'm not sorry. It was fun.

State sponsored violence is weird and gross. 

"But who would build the roads!?" you ask... I honestly don't care. Anyone who wants to. As long as they aren't robbing me and threatening me in order to make it happen.

~Seth

Sort:  

This is hilarious! You're so spot on and it's good you bring it up! :D

The roads argument is really one of the dumbest of them all, look at the machines used for it; all engineered by private companies.

You're work is a fine piece of art, as it reflects the time spirit.

I just get so sick of hearing the roads question, I wanted to address it the only way I know how: with drawings and ridiculousness

OMG this is sowonderful! lets make it rhyme, throw in a beat and this could go more viral than anarchyball. I wanted to start keeping score with fellow ancaps every time we answer: "what about muh roads" when arguing against commies. Now I want to make it so that you have to link to your road song for full points lol. You could call it: 'a song of pricy tar' as a parody of 'a song of ice and fire' or something. I dunno, it needs a good name.

Honestly, if anyone out there wants to make a rhyming version I would love that! I'm hardly a poet, so I'll leave the task to someone else.

Also, I named it after the Song of Solomon.

did you have a specific version in mind?

Version of what

Oh I didn't really follow the structure of Song of Solomon at all. I only took the title as inspiration.

song of solomon when you names your poem after it. You know, so that anyone who tinkers with your work can stay true to the spirit of it.

But it makes an associated link right? an air or style of regal grandeur. I'd stay true to it.

Yea that's true I suppose. I still don't think the version really matters to much, but I used the ESV as my reference.

HAHAHAHAH. THat was awesome! so raody!

LOL that's totally fun. No apology necessary.

That's why I'm not actually sorry ;)

That was fucking fantastic. That made my morning/early afternoon. Kudos to you, sir!

:D Glad I could be of service.

Regarding roads; Housing developers already build the subdivision roads. Those who build on land in the country often have to build a drive to the main road. So it would follow that those who want to offer commercial products and services would also be interested in building roads. There is a free market solution for everything, and it would be of better quality, cost effective, and voluntary, only if government would get out of the way.

Yes exactly. Maybe one day I'll do a serious "who will build the roads?" post and list some real possibilities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80