Dracaena draco

in #art6 years ago

I tried to understand the shape of this strange inhabitant of the Earth by drawing it. The simplicity of the ink drawing helps, always.
I have a fascination with this tree. It lives somewhere on Canary island, and it is 100 years old. They call this one "Drago Milenario". I think it fascinates me (mainly) because of its form. It developpes in unusual ways. When it is young, it looks nothing like the old one, as if it is almost another family.
I love it, and one day I will go and visit it. Word.
534679_4272807698689_1223767598_n.jpg

Sort:  

Somehow, this reminds me of a scene from Phenomenon movie with John Travolta about the largest living organism on earth being an aspen tree. But the tree actually spans over acres. At first glance they seem disconnected but they share the same root and are not disconnected.

Wonderful association, I want to watch that movie today. Thanks for reminding me of it!
Yes, it is such a beautiful and strange community of trees that are actually one.

Yes, beautiful movie. Did you watch it? Your post actually reminded me of the movie. So thank you! It's with John travolta. Another beautiful movie of similar genre you might like is "Powder". You watched this one @ semipermeable ?

@tatvamasi, I watched Powder. Such an unusual movie, isn't it? The actor playing the main character is is impressive! But the first one you mentioned, I didn't watch yet. But I will, for sure!

Oh you didn't watch Phenomenon? I loved it. I watched it a long time ago and forgot most of it but I know I loved it, haha. I should maybe also watch it again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42