Secora's Daily Drawings #46: Caricature gone wrong!

in #art7 years ago

So last night, I was invited to my friend's baby mamma's birthday party.

For her birthday she's been badgering me for a family portrait. She knows I do goofy weird caricatures, and I've already drawn her family all cutesy (a couple times). Soooo....I thought I'd change things up and do a really funny portrait. She's seen my caricature work, and always cracks up at them. Whats the worst that could happen?

Well....the worst thing did happen.

I gave it to her, and she hated it. She left the whole party and cried alone in a secluded room.

Not kidding.

Seriously.

This will go down as one of the most awkward moments of my life. Top 15 at least.

Nobody knew what to do! Some people tried to comfort me, saying it was really well done drawing...some people just sat there in silence. One couple was so uncomfortable, that they left. Me? Well, I was in shock. I had NO idea it would affect her that way. Yes, I went goofy and extreme....but never did I imagine it had the possibility of ruining someone's birthday! If anything I thought she'd crack up and everyone would get a kick out of it!

Here it is.

Screen Shot 2017-08-26 at 6.55.54 PM.png

and here they are

Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 10.14.17 PM.png

What do you think, steemit? Did I go too far? I think it's important to laugh at yourself, right? You can't take yourself too seriously in this short life. You gotta lighten up a little. I dunno. Who knows.

I don't think I'll be invited back.

Sort:  

Its blimmin awesome in my opinion. Perhaps you could try to reach out to them again and ask what they think without the heightened emotional state. Maybe over the phone or in a coffee shop. Or not, idk :)

Yeah...I think you're right.

If you do I hope it goes well and was just a mis-understanding.

That's a bummer @secora, because you're art is awesome. It's hard to know what insecurities a person might have regarding their own physical appearance and the appearance of their family. I've tried to draw friends and family before (at their request) & I've never gotten a good response. It's as though they think the image that comes out of my pen is exactly the way I see them. Anyway, sorry that happened. P.S. Top 15?! What other 14 awkward moments meet and surpass this one? (Perhaps there's an idea for a new series of illustrations).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65