ISCA Caricature Convention PT9

in #art5 years ago

This is a caricature of a caricature fellow Denverite, Ben Bloss. He’s been drawn a million times because of his distinct, gothic vampiric look, so I wanted to do something sort of wild and different for his portrayal.

I started out just making general shapes and textures that convey a grimy, gritty feel, starting with general feelings instead of specific likeness.

Then I started with the shapes of his head and ended up adding his iconic skeleton hand glove later on. For this piece it, was a lot of push and pull the balance out the shading and textures. There was no real clear vision in the beginning, but I was happy with how it turned out!

Side note: Tje drawing reminded me of something vaguely familiar, but I couldn't put my finger on it and it really bothered me! It wasn't until much later that I realized this looks like concept art for "Mr. Centipede" in James in the Giant Peach, haha!

Anyway, here's the reference photos...

Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 1.52.46 PM.png

And the drawing...

Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 1.49.27 PM.png

And Ben with the drawing. Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 1.49.22 PM.png

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Sort:  

Thank you, kind sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00