The Life of an Artistic College Student

in #art6 years ago

Before we hop into anything, as much as I would want to say that college is so much fun and is the most free you can be in your growing years....it is NOT easy. Especially being in the arts field.

Of course in any course your majoring in , it isn't going to be as simple as you would want it to be. But being an artistic student isn't just academics. It's a lifestyle. A time consuming one at that.

With any major, before you get into the good stuff, you have to start off with the basics. So before I was able to get my hands dirty with any tech work or innovations, I had to go back to the fundamental and basic drawing classes. As disappointing as it was that I wasn't going to go straight into the fun works, I gained so many skills that I never would've thought I had if I hadn't practiced as much as I did.

Know this. With any artwork that is created by students (or even in general), it wasn't easy nor quick. Most of the work that we were given had to be prepared within a minimum of six hours. Yes ! Six whole hours. Sometimes I may have even spent time doing more than that. But the whole point of that was to practice style, technique, time etiquette, and value to your work.

Spending that amount of time usually meant a masterpiece was on your hands. And all works of art, to me, are masterpieces. In the light of knowing the amount of time needed to be taken, you would definitely HAVE TO fit some time into your schedule. Trying to do any kind of artwork in a short amount of time is stressful and doesn't turn out the way you want it. With that being said, a planner is gong to be your best friend ! You can still go about your everyday routine, but leave a an open window or time frame to get your artwork done. And a good enough time at that.

Trust me , you'll definitely thank yourself later and will feel proud of what you have accomplished because of the time and effort you took to do it.

Sort:  

@seasia811, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Sounds like your growing and that is an amazing thing! Will you post some of your work?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43