GREEN THUMB is not just a gift...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! This is my second post following my re-introduction.

Sure did I mention gardening as my top priority (on my previous post) and true enough had a motivational week. Sweating out on the area preparation, transplanting of seedlings and sprouts and composting. I realized just how important it is to have at least a basic knowledge of composting. I made my own version out of banana peel, discarded vegetables, egg shells and wood shavings from a backyard carpentry shop nearby. Since garden soil is a bit pricey and didn't have all the nutrients required by the plants to grow healthy and abundantly, compost mixture is added.

Here are some pics of my fruit-bearing plants: atis, calamansi, cranberry, papaya, pomegranate and ponkan fruitbearing - atis.JPGfruitbearing - calamansi lemon.JPGfruitbearing - cranberry.JPGfruitbearing - papaya.JPGfruitbearing - pomegranate.JPGfruitbearing - ponkan.JPG

Here are some pics of the new cuttings for flowering and ornamental plants:
flora and fauna - 1.JPGflora and fauna - 2.JPGflora and fauna - 3.JPGflora and fauna - 4.JPGflora and fauna - rosal.JPGflora and fauna - 5.JPG

Here are some of my new plants belonging to veggies and herbs: lemon grass, oregano, bell pepper, tomato, bitter gourd and okra (lady finger)
IMG_0124.JPG
veggies & herb - bitter gourd.JPG
veggies & herbs - bell pepper.JPG
veggies & herb - lemon grass.JPGveggies & herb - oregano.JPGveggies & herb - tomato.JPG

I will be adding a couple more herbs such as spring onions, ginger, basil, rosemary and peppermint. My friend also promised to send me seeds and or sprouts of carrots, lettuce and cucumber --- these would make a great garden salad!

It is very pleasant to see my new green babies grow strong and showing progress every single day. I am also grateful God has since showered balanced amount of sunshine and doses of rain bits plus heaps of amicable weather. Green thumb is not only a gift but that it is also a great factor for enhancing patience, discipline and perseverance.

What bothers me is the presence of leaf borers and caterpillars on the new shoots most especially. Would anyone care to share good inputs or suggestion of keeping them away from my tender babies? At least an organic way at that? :-) Would certainly appreciate all the help and advice(s). Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84