Red harpy and process of the drawing

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Hey again

Today I'm back again with another original drawing i made. The drawing today is inspired by a picture of a harpy i found. Originally i was gonna give her wings like a harpy, but i ended up just letting her sleeves represent the wings. Anyways for once, i thought it would be fun to share my process with you guys as well.

So here's the first sketch i made of the drawing (beautiful i know). This was made very quickly and was mostly just to give me an idea of what i wanted to draw


while i was making the first sketch, i noticed a part of my sketch that i thought looked pretty cool. So i copied it and used it as a decoration for the dress later.


when i was done with the first sketch, i made the outline of my drawing. Where as you can see, i altered the design a little bit, so it was more to my liking

then i coloured it with the base colours i wanted and made some extra decoration for the dress to make it look more interesting

when i was done i made the shadows, the light and her eyes. I gave her some pretty dark shadows in the face because i wanted the eyes to stand out more. Then lastly i made a simple background and signed it. and here's the finished result


i'm scarlet-rain a 16 year old girl from Denmark, who enjoy drawing in my spare time. if you wanna know a little bit more here's my introduction post

And here's my instagram page

Sort:  

nice drawing, thanks to share the step by step ^_^

thanks. I'm glad you like it :)

Very nice :)
I like very much that kind of clothes in a girl XD

I love the idea to use original line art for the dress decoration :)
Nice!

thank you very much ^-^

great drawing. keep it up! thank you :)

Congratulations @scarlet-rain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52