Step by Step Water Color Drawing Process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians, 

Today I am posting the step by step process of the water color Illustration which is done for a short story being published in 'TARANGA' weekly magazine. 

The story is of a Postman who promises to marry a widow but could not keep up his promise due to unavoidable circumstances and ends up marrying another girl. The Widow spends the rest of her life waiting for the Postman.

Mediums used:

  • Cartridge Paper 90 gsm
  • Graphite Pencil
  • Colour Pen Brown
  • Camlin Photo Colors - Portrait Pink, Warm Brown, Scarlet, Dark Blue, Violet, Foliage Green, Deep Yellow and Stone Grey 
  • Brush with Round Bristles
  • Image Editing: Photoshop

 

One drop of photo color is enough for one drawing. 

 

After you dilute with the water, the color appears more vibrant and clear

 

Step 1. I outlined the basic sketch of the drawing composition using 2B graphite pencil 

 

Step 2. I start the background by putting plain water. Initially, the surface looks a bit wavy, but don't bother as the paper surface will settle after few minutes. 

 

Step 3. I start applying the color drops on the water so that the colours spread and mix on the surface 

 

Step 4. Once background colouring is done and dried, I put the foreground color, on the costume and skin. I mix the Portrait Pink and little Deep Yellow to get the skin tone. For the post man's dress, I used Warm Brown and Deep Yellow. For the Saree, I used diluted Scarlet Lake

 

Step 5. Once the colors are dried, take the back pen and start finishing the outlines. This is where your sketching skill is tested:-)

Step 6. Once the hand drawn illustration is completed, I scanned, sharpened and edited the edges of the illustration in Adobe Photoshop.

Illustration.

This is the finished illustration

Hope you liked the drawing. Please comment, upvote and resteem if you liked this post.

Till my next post, happy drawing.

Sort:  

This is a terrific #howto documentation for the watercolor technique. I like your way of showing even the amount of water you use in your palette, straight through the finishing touches with pen, and then your digital enhancements. Great artwork too! Exceptional post, really.

@cabelindsay Thanks for your wonderful comment my friend. That will definitely encourage me to post more and more:-)

i love your art man! by the way im a Curie curator and i would just like to ask, did this art come from a reference or is this an original work?

@andywong31 Thanks for your comment brother. I used some reference for this art and improvised it. Sometimes I make my wife as model and click the pose I require for reference :-)

Well done! I especially like the Strength this woman portrays!

@artzanolino Thanks for the comment

Wow! Thank you for the detailed tutorial @satishart
I will definitely try it out.

@wandereronwheels Thanks dude. Drawing is fun, you should definitely try:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44