Pixel art knight (WIP, game art)

in #art6 years ago

Hi! Today I want to share some WIP art I'm doing for a game project I'm working on with a friend. The final asset will be 64x64, it's shown at 4x size on the images.

This is the "complete" knight:
Knight_wip.PNG

And this is him without the shield so you can see the rest of the body and such:
Knight_wip_no_shield.PNG

Bear in mind this is on an early phase, I still need to clean up the outline and add some details. I'm also thinking of changing the spear because, although I've been re-doing it like crazy until I got this, I still don't think is right. Also, I'm pretty new to doing art (I'm a programmer professionally, not an artist), so any advice will be greatly apreciated.

Images taken directly from Aseprite, the program I use for drawing.

Sort:  

I had a bot resteem your post :)

Wow, thanks a lot, I wasn't expecting this to get any attention, much less after two weeks XD

I can't give you any advice but I do think it's looking good. I'm a programmer as well and I've always wanted to do something artistic but I've always been too lazy. Very good you're just doing it!

As a programmer I've attempted and failed to do art lots of times, and with this pixel art thing is the first time I've actually felt like I'm achieving decent results. I may write a post on it some day, when I have more to show, explaining the process and giving some resources or tips to get started. It's actually a lot easier than it looks like (unless it looks easy already XD).

I would be interested in reading how you make it. Let me know when you put it up.

Sure! I'm always afraid when preparing a post that it will be wasted time and no-one will read it, so knowing you're interested is a huge motivation to get it done, I'll be sure to let you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88