WRINKLES I: Creative process.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit!

One of the reasons why I joined this wonderful platform is because of the possibility of sharing my artistic works with this awesome community.
I hope you enjoy it!

2 - Edited (1).jpg

Untitled (Integrate). Patinated plaster. 39 x 42 cm. (2017)



Today I'm showing you a sculptural piece based on the word integrate, which was randomly assigned to me for this exercise.

Integrate means:

to bring together,
combine,
or incorporate
into a whole
or into a larger unit.


4.jpg

10.jpg

Considering this, I decided to integrate the hardness, the visual weight, and the natural origin of plaster, with the light and synthetic character of plastic. This relationship is emphasized through the changing form of the sculpture, which according to each view may seem either fluid and light, or heavy and stable.

I also decided to add the wrinkles (a key element in my drawings that I'll discuss in another post), integrating them to my three-dimensional proposal for the first time.


THE PROCESS

First, I worked out the shape by molding the metal mesh spontaneously, looking for concave and convex reliefs. Then, I covered this structure with plaster bandages.

3.jpg

Next I applied the plaster and placed a piece of crumpled plastic on it. When the plaster had set, I removed the plastic, getting a wrinkled texture.

I repeated this procedure for the whole sculpture, alternating between the wrinkles and the texture of the plaster itself.

8.jpg

5 - Edited.jpg

I sanded some areas and proceeded to apply a black oxide patina to highlight the reliefs. After three applications I sealed the piece with a mixture of water and white glue, giving it the final look.


The concept integrate is fundamental for art. Although I worked with it this way, I think that each work of art is based on this concept in some sense, because art is about creating relationships between elements and experiences and then turn them into a whole.

In addition to the ones I mentioned, there are many ways this piece
can be explained based on this concept.
Share your opinion!

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66