Sort:  

Great job of summarizing the change we are all witnessing occur all around us. Back in 2013 I published a book titled "Pardon the Disruption. The Future You Never saw Coming." It made numerous predictions concerning the exponential advancement of technology. I was laughed at and criticized for a lot of it. No ones laughing now because most of my predictions are now actually coming true. My book about the future is rapidly becoming a history book. Welcome to STEEM, Sara!

That's so interesting! Ill have to check this book out. So what are your thoughts on Steemit in general? pros, cons?

I love it! you are the first person that has made me want to follow them. Wow great read keep up the good work-Resteemed

Thank you so much! Do you think Steemit addresses the challenges of other social media?

Welcome @saradear. Very interesting post. I love that you are sceptical and try to see the truth. Blockchain is probably the most important invention in the last 20 or so years. The promise of the blockchain for me is to give back ownership to the people, to us. Future will tell, but at the moment I will help to make Steemit succeed by trying to help other people here. It seems to be a great place to learn and share my own little pieces of wisdom.

Thanks for your input!

Hi there welcome to Steemit. An interesting introduction indeed. I understand that you mean completely as we are from the same time era. So looking forward to your contribution here!

Thanks so much! I see you are new to steemit as well, just followed you :) .. What excites you about steemit?

You are welcome. Thank you for your follow. I have come to realise as per your introduction that things are really changing in the world today. Blockchain being one of them. I am excited about the prospect of a totally new way of doing things. With Steemit I find that I am motivated to create and curate quality content. It is of course exciting that you can receive compensation for the content that you create or curate. It is also more than that, it is another avenue for normal people like me to create and practice creating whilst receiving feedback and encouragement to continue getting better.

Yes I totally agree. Thank you so much for the reply! That's a really great point, that above and beyond the obvious reward incentive, its a very honest evaluation of the content you put out there. Steemit seems like a great place to receive feedback and practice producing. Good thoughts :)

@saradear do you remember the days when we had to actually remember phone numbers?

p.s. - a question I'm asking other users right now... how does steemit give it's users the power, aside from the obvious voting pool reward situation. I thinks its great that steemit is a publication site using a decentralized blockchain platform, but it seems the power is in the hands of the cryptography rather than the people. A code that has no customer service. Where are the feedback loops? Not being able to edit or curate my blog once posts are uploaded (except for first 7 days) doesn't make me feel autonomous in curating the content I present.. on the contrary it makes me feel more vulnerable! I read your post about the potential of steemit to overtake facebook, and I'm wanting to get input on this from steemit chearleaders like yourself .. thanks!

think next level of facebook. One where you are offered the potential of real value from posting. then steem dollars etc can be traded for something else. unlike now, where you are just offered a pre-designed platform and content creators are not even real share holders the vast vast majority of the time. How many of us Facebook users own facebook shares? Steemit gives us ownership too. blockchain "money" , block chain contracts, block chain product history receipts etc are the future that we like it or not.
How do you not feel autonomous in curating content? I am interested and please tell me more.

Okay, starting to make sense (thanks for answering, you're the first person to answer me so far).. so you're saying the power is with the people in that we're all shareholders through blockchain currency and the public contracts/receipts.. but my lack of feeling autonomous comes in when thinking about what ways I can impact the system manifolds myself, directly, to propose edits to the system and have my voice heard. Thats the part thats not clear to me yet. As for a pre-designed platform, thats a a part of my question.. how do we have access to help mold this platform? As far as I can tell, there is in fact a pre-designed system in place of uploading posts, voting, etc.. but what system is in place for changes to the system? Am I making any sense? :/

you are making total sense and it is a very good question. let me think about it and I will get back to you.

Cool, thank you! I appreciate it :)

@intrepidsurfer - Nevermind! Got my question answered. I reached out to the volunteers on the help channel in steemchat, and the steemwitness, darko, helped break it down for me in a helpful way. Steemit is a private company that owns and develops the Steem blockchain. They own it, but they don't run it as it's run by the users. Being open source, any developer can participate and fix bugs and make improvements which are merged by Steemit's team. As for "user feedback," that channel seems mainly to be the #help channel on SteemChat plus an email address. And the witnesses are developers who host the blockchain nodes, and the users can vote for these people. Whew.. got it ... although it's privately owned, it is, indeed, mostly influenced by the users. Thanks for engaging :)

Haha yes! What wizards we all used to be. Now I feel so useless in that department.

Hello there, welcome to Steemit! Have fun!

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93