Sympathy

in #art6 years ago (edited)

afbeelding.png
Sympathy

Can't believe it's 10 years ago I drew this. I made this with charcoal on A3 paper. Usually it takes weeks to create art but I did this one in a day.

I still have this on my wall to impress myself I made this and it didn't take me much time to create. Like some sort of achievement to look at when the artistic self-doubt starts taking over... ;)

Can't remember what led to this but at that time I was fighting inner demons and drew a lot of "dark" stuff. Now ten years later it feels like I'm fighting the demons again and I try to fight back with art somehow. A lot of dark ideas pop up in my mind lately and I feel like I have to draw them to contain the demons like locking them up in an artwork. That's why I though about this one and wanted to do a post about it.

Hope you like the artwork although it's ten years old already...

Sort:  

Wow this is so evocative and the title "Sympathy" is a strong juxtaposition to the faces on the picture! Great piccar, Sander!!! And even if it's an old picture, it still speaks well! <3

upvotes

Thank you very much! Yeah it's timeless and I think I can't do it better now 10 years later.

Thanks for the support <3

The best way go fight demons is drag them into the light. Best light there is? Art! Very well done.

There is an additional function to fight the demons with art. We can share and recognise the fight. Knowing we all are not alone is this js helpful.

I hope you will fight and win. If you are not able the win, befriend the demons but don't give in or compromise. Art is powerful, thanks for reminding me.

Thank you for your awesome words. Sorry for my late reply I kind of missed it...

True knowing people deal with the same stuff and knowing where it comes from is a good path dealing with it.

I will win eventually but have to get out of the comfort zone to confront it all. Like you said drag them into the light. But it's so much easier to stay in comfort ;)

Yeah I forgot myself art is also therapy and powerful and not only to create nice images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61305.83
ETH 3302.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48